As a resident of California facing a driving under the influence charge, you may feel uneasy about the penalties you may face if you ultimately receive a conviction. A DUI conviction can take a serious toll on numerous areas of your life, and, unfortunately, the effects of a DUI typically continue for some time even after you get your driver’s license back.
According to Insure.com, your automotive insurance rates will likely increase significantly when you have a conviction for drunk driving on your record, and you can expect to see a notable increase regardless of where you reside. Just how much more can you anticipate paying per year when you have a DUI on your California driving record?
Substantial insurance increases
Unfortunately, California residents with DUI convictions see some of the nation’s highest automotive insurance increases. Without a DUI on your driving record, you can plan to pay about $1,783 per year for insurance coverage. Once you have a DUI, though, this number climbs to $5,093 per year, which is an increase of 186% and $3,310 a year.
This insurance increase can put you in a tough situation, because you probably had to pay some hefty fines because of your DUI, and you now need to start making up for it financially by working more, which likely involves commuting. However, before you can commute, you will need to get your driver’s license back, and you need to find an insurer to cover you before you can get back on the roads.
In some instances, you may find that getting an auto insurance company to extend you coverage at all can prove challenging after a DUI because insurers start seeing you as more of a liability. If this describes your situation, it may serve you well to confer with several different insurance companies to find out who can offer you the most favorable rate.