Kestenbaum Law Group
Free Initial Consultation Se Habla EspaƱol
Phone: 818-616-4312
Criminal Defense From A Former Prosecutor

theft & property crimes Archives

Shoplifting charges in California

When voters in California passed Proposition 47 in 2014, the penalties for many minor crimes were reduced. However, the consequences faced by shoplifters in the Golden State can still be severe. There is no law in California that specifically deals with shoplifting, so offenders are sentenced under the state's theft laws. Individuals caught stealing inexpensive items will usually face petty theft charges that carry a maximum sentence of six months in jail and a $1,000 fine. When goods worth more than $950 are involved, shoplifters can face grand theft charges and be sent to jail for up to a year. Stealing a gun can lead to even more severe penalties.

California women apprehended in undercover sting operation

Two California women are facing a raft of charges including identity theft, burglary, and drug possession after being apprehended during a sting operation conducted by Santa Clara County Sheriff's Office deputies. The women were taken into custody on May 3 when they met undercover deputies in a Cupertino restaurant to allegedly sell an iPad that had been purchased with a stolen credit card.

California lawmakers consider bill aimed at package thieves

In March, California lawmakers began considering a bill that would beef up penalties for thieves who steal packages from porches and doorsteps. The bill would expand the state's penal code to specifically forbid burglaries from porches, doorsteps and other areas outside the home known as "curtilages."

Three California men detained in alleged home burglary

Three men were detained in Pasadena on suspicion of burglary. Claremont police were alerted of the alleged break-in when a housekeeper called 911 to report a possible intruder at a residence in the 3700 block of Hollins Avenue. The call was placed at approximately 1 p.m. The housekeeper told police that she was hiding at the time of the call.

Woman live-streamed home intrusion with stolen phone

Deputies with the San Mateo County Sheriff's Department could not explain the motivations of a California woman who they arrested after she allegedly entered a home in Woodside and stole a phone. The man living at the residence said that she took his phone and then used it to live-stream her comments as she wondered around his property.

California man accused of stealing thousands of library materials

A Fair Oaks man is facing felony shoplifting and grand theft charges after thousands of library books and DVDs were discovered in his home. The 46-year-old man allegedly took most of the materials from the Sacramento Public Library, which was determined from the attached labels. A search warrant for the man's home was granted after the library contacted sheriff's deputies to report a man spotted on surveillance cameras placing several books in his backpack while only checking one of them out.

How state law defines auto theft

In the state of California, auto theft could be considered to be either a misdemeanor or a felony charge. The severity of the charge depends on the facts in the case, and it could also hinge on the defendant's criminal record. Furthermore, the type of charge a person faces may depend on whether he or she intended to keep the vehicle permanently or merely took it on a joyride.

The elements of larceny in California

Larceny occurs when an item is taken without force and in an unlawful manner. To be considered larceny, the item must belong to another person and be taken without the owner's consent. Furthermore, it must be taken with the intent to deny the owner of the use or enjoyment of an object. If an object cannot be moved, it may not be necessary to physically carry it away.

How California law deals with auto theft crimes

Auto theft charges in California can either be a misdemeanor or a felony. How a crime is classified depends on the facts in a given case. However, most auto theft cases involve felony charges that carry jail time and a fine of up to $10,000 for those who are convicted. To commit auto theft in the state, a person must take a car that doesn't belong to him or her and is worth more than $950.

Superlawyers Badge avvo rating 10 provisors badge avvo clients choice badge avvo top contributer 2017 badge av preeminent badge SFVBA badge 10 best 2014 badge yelp badge

Contact The Firm

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.


Privacy Policy

email us for a response
Get Map & Directions
office address

Kestenbaum Law Group
14401 Sylvan Street
Suite 100
Van Nuys, CA 91401

Phone: 818-616-4312
Fax: 323-729-3258
Van Nuys Law Office Map

office number
office timing

Monday - Friday: 8AM-6PM
Saturday: Closed
Sunday: Closed